Switch to Text-Only Website Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Local High School Stars Shine in the Sixth Edition of the Niagara Knights Showcase Games

June 12, 2019….WELLAND - Tuesday evening saw the best of the best in high school soccer from around the Niagara region compete in Niagara College's annual Soccer Showcase event at Youngs Sportsplex.

22 Niagara schools were represented by more than 80 of the area's top notch players rounding out their senior years.

The showcase, now six years running, has seen several current and former Niagara Knights players come through the showcase program, ultimately achieving what long-time Niagara men's assistant coach Rino Berardi wanted to see.

"Every year the talent pool keeps growing" says Berardi. "We first started this back in 2014 not knowing what really to expect out of the first game, but every year we manage to grow a bit and have developed great relationships with the local high school coaches."

The event kicked off with the girls match that saw both teams bring a high tempo energy right off the opening kick. Team White's Kennedy Saxton (Centennial) opened the scoring at the seven- minute mark of the first half. Team Blue's Sydney MacNeil (Saint Francis) would net another one, before the end of the first half, but not before Team White responded with a quick goal to cut the lead in half at 2-1. Emily Iudiciani (A.N. Meyer) from Team White would pop one more in late in the second half to secure their lead and go on to win 3-1.

Iudiciani was named Team White's MVP, while MacNeil took home the honours for Team Blue.

The boys game also saw things get off to a fast pace early on with a quick goal from Team Blue's Sebastian Agudo (Notre Dame). Team Blue went on to take a commanding 6-2 lead to end the half, ultimately going on to defeat Team White by a score of 10-3.

Team Blue had several players notch a couple goals each, with Max Grant (Governor Simcoe) and Liam Mitchell (St. Catharines Collegiate) netting two, while Devin Marques (Greater Fort Erie)  completed the only hat trick of the night. Other goal scorers include; Nick Andreola (A.N. Meyer), Agudo, and Andres Pelez (St. Francis).

Team White had goals from Michael Solomon (Saint Paul), Marco Primerano (A.N. Meyer) and Elijah Wanless (St. Francis).

Andreola and Solomon were named the night's MVPs for their respective squads.


Photos from 2019 Showcase Games


Girls Game Film



Boys Game Film


2019 Showcase Partcipants: 

Team Blue, boys: Nick Andreola, A.N. Myer; Sebastian Agudo, Holy Cross; Mario Borojevic, Westlane; Nolan Bosetti, Notre Dame; Bradley Connor, Jean Vanier; Jonah Devereux, Lakeshore Catholic; Maxwell Grant, Governor Simcoe; Kylar Lampman, Welland Centennial; Devin Marques, Greater Fort Erie; Cam MacPherson, Grimsby; Liam Mitchell, St. Catharines; Owen Patituccio, Notre Dame; Andres Pelaez, Saint Francis; Jake Richard, Port Colborne; Maxwell Witcomb, Holy Cross; Devin Marques.

Team White, boys: Yazeed Alzughaibi, Sir Winston Churchill; Jonah Boria, Blessed Trinity; Michael DiMaurizo, Denis Morris; Tyler Glasbergen, Smithville Christian; Wyatt Habinski, Greater Fort Erie; Altin Ibrahimi, Holy Cross; Jacob Marshall, Westlane; Marco Primerano, A.N. Myer; Tristan Samuels, Holy Cross; Hartley Slater, Greater Fort Erie; Michael Solomon, Saint Paul; Brandon Wallace, E.L. Crossley; Elijah Wanless, Saint Francis; Noah Wilson, Saint Michael; Connor Carroll; Patryk Solomin.

Team Blue, girls: Reanna Beaudoin, Jean Vanier; Julie Buist, Smithville Christian; Mia DiPasquale, Blessed Trinity; Sam Duncan, Notre Dame; Angeline Galati, Saint Paul; Breanna Habinski, Greater Fort Erie; Macy Hellwig, Denis Morris; Terin Hultink, Smithville Christian; Sydney MacNeil, Saint Francis; Sarah Mateus-Jimenez, Sir Winston Churchill; Parker Midgley, Greater Fort Erie; Sommer Newton, E.L. Crossley; Sarah O'Rourke, Holy Cross; Emily Slota, Denis Morris; Julia Thies, Smithville Christian; Erica VanSoelen, Heritage Christian; Darrien Ryan, Notre Dame; Katharine Solomon, St. Paul; Drew Smith, Blessed Trinity; Sophia Belcastro, Notre Dame.

Team White, girls: Julia Barker, Sir Winston Churchill; Brianna Bishop, A.N. Myer; Lauren Carter, Saint Michael; Kiana DiFrancesco, Sir Winston Churchill; Thalia D'Gyves, Notre Dame; Hailey Gawel, Lakeshore Catholic; Emily Iudicianni, A.N. Myer; Nadia Lobzun, Denis Morris; Maria MacLean, Saint Paul; Isabelle Newkirk, Governor Simcoe; Olivia Noyes, Notre Dame; Kaitlyn Pressley, Thorold; Kennedy Saxton, Welland Centennial; Madison Small, Governor Simcoe; Eileen Sulliman, Greater Fort Erie; Reanna Beaudoin, Jean Vanier; Grace Luey, Port Colborne High.