Switch to Text-Only Website Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NEWS: 37 Knights earn 2017-18 CCAA National Scholar Award

NEWS: 37 Knights earn 2017-18 CCAA National Scholar Award

The Canadian College Athletic Association (CCAA) announced Thursday that 37 Niagara Knights have been named recipients of the 2017-18 CCAA National Scholar Award. 

The CCAA National Scholar Award recognizes the outstanding academic accomplishments of CCAA student-athletes. To be recognized, individuals must achieve honours standing at their respective institution in the current academic year, and must compete as a member of their institution's intercollegiate sport program. At Niagara College, a student-athlete must finish the season with a +80% average in their academic programs.

"This award is one of the highest achievements at the collegiate level," said Niagara College Associate Director of Athletics and Recreation Michele O'Keefe. "The individuals recognized with this award personify what it means to be a student-athlete. We are extremely proud of their accomplishments both on the playing field and in the classroom." 

Niagara's 37 award winners was tops in the provincially in OCAA, and fourth-best nationally in the CCAA. The Knights finished behind only Holland College, Champlain College Saint Lambert, and the University of Alberta-Augustana. This year's 37 recipients is also the second-highest total for an academic year in Niagara College history, being eclipsed only by the record of 42 set in 2016-17. Eight Knights teams featured at least one representative, with the women's volleyball team leading the way with seven recipients. Other teams featuring recipients includes women's soccer (6), men's volleyball (6), cross country (5), men's soccer (4), women's basketball (4), curling (3), and golf (1).

Notable award winners include Alex Latham (men's soccer) and Hannah Baker (women's basketball), who were also the recipients of the Knights Top Scholastic awards at the annual athletic banquet last spring. This also marks the third straight year that Latham has earned the academic accolade. Gavin Martin (cross country) and Logan Lammerant (golf) both join Latham as a three-time recipients of the award.

Other multi-time recipients of the award include Amy Bultje (women's volleyball), Rachel Rivers (women's volleyball), Bethany Langendoen (women's soccer), and Renee Boyce (curling) who all earned the award for the second consecutive year. 

The 2017-18 CCAA National Scholar Award recipients will be formally honoured at a ceremony scheduled for later this fall.

Full list of 2017-18 Niagara Knights CCAA National Scholar Award recipients

Women's Volleyball
Amy Bultje
Natasha Desjardins
Tamara Edwards
Shayna Graham
Melissa McFadden
Nicole Pirillo
Rachel Rivers

Women's Soccer
Kaylee Boulley
Ashley Bruzzese
Shannon Halliday
Kandis Klipnich
Renee LaFrance
Bethany Langendoen

Women's Basketball
Hannah Baker
Courtney Kilyk
Kaitlyn Mahu
Kim Shepard

Men's Volleyball
Elijah Bugiardini
Ashton Fehr
Benjamin Fillmore
Dale VandenDool
Jacob Williamson
Robert Zalewski

Men's Soccer
Alex Latham
Anu Makinwa
Sam Robson
Eric Woodland 

Cross Country
Dania Aljeilani
Nicholas Goffredo
Gavin Martin
Zachery Vanderkolk
Jennifer Winger

Renee Boyce
Chelsea Brandwood
David Cressman

Logan Lammerant