Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Knights set to Welcome 80 High School Standouts in 5th Annual Soccer Showcase

Knights set to Welcome 80 High School Standouts in 5th Annual Soccer Showcase

Wednesday, June 13th will see the Niagara College men's and women's soccer programs play host to the fifth annual Niagara Region High School Soccer showcase at Youngs SportsPlex in Welland. The event will see more than 80 of the area's best high school soccer players representing 22 Niagara Region schools come together for a pair of best-on-best games designed to showcase the high talent level that exists in the local high school soccer ranks.

 "This showcase has really grown into a top-quality event and is a nice celebration of the high school soccer scene" said Niagara Knights men's soccer head coach Frank DeChellis. "Letting skilled athletes play in a pressure-free environment allows them to display their passion for football. Both games are always entertaining and it doesn't take long for new teammates to start combining on the pitch."

The event will feature a girls' game at 6:00pm and boys' game following at 8:00pm. The two games will be played on the indoor field at Youngs SportsPlex in Welland, and will feature free admission for all community members.

The annual June showcase games were conceived back in 2014 by long-time Knights assistant coach Rino Berardi.

"This event was originally created as an opportunity to provide local soccer fans a chance to see all the best soccer players in the Niagara region play with or against each other" said Berardi "I am happy that it has come as far as it has. Coaches have told us that players are asking to be included."

The format for the Niagara Region High School Soccer showcase sees each local area high school soccer program invited to send their participants of their choosing to the event. Players are split evenly into two rosters, with MVP award winners being selected from each team at the end of the match.

"I have been very impressed with the overall talent and caliber of our local high school teams" added Niagara Knights women's soccer head coach Rob Lalama. "This showcase game allows all these outstanding players an opportunity to put their individual skills on display."

In a testament to the caliber of high school soccer in the region, more than 25 former showcase participants have gone on to wear the Knights jersey at the varsity level in the Ontario Colleges Atheltic Assiociation.

"We really do have a lot of talent in Niagara" continued DeChellis. "A large chunk of our roster is filled by Niagara area players who have played prominent roles in our recent success. "Word has spread that we are contenders and that has fueled a lot of interest in Niagara College and our soccer program."

Standout former participants of the event include 2017 OCAA West Rookie of the Year Michelle Maecker (Fonthill, E.L. Crossley), 2017 Knights women's soccer MVP Kara Latham (Welland, Centennial), and 2016 Knights men's soccer rookie of the year Jake Therrien (Welland, Notre Dame)

"Rino's success at unearthing local talent is a direct result of the high school coaches who are in constant contact with us" said DeChellis. "It's another bridge between Niagara College and local high schools. We aim to motivate these student-athletes to consider post-secondary education as well as post-secondary soccer."

Boys' Team Blue

1 Hunter Oakley - Blessed Trinity CHS

2 Matt Scocchia - Grimsby SS

3 Tamas Kalenda - EL Crossley SS

4 Oreyn Hall - St. Michael CHS

5 Patrick Alvarez - Blessed Trinity CHS

6 Michael Fernandez - Denis Morris CHS

7 Ivan Mamic - St. Francis CHS

8 Xavier Makris - Grimsby SS

9 Nick Andreola - AN Meyer SS

10 Connor Carroll - Holy Cross CHS

11 Oti Frigole - Governor Simcoe SS

12 Nick Pringle - Governor Simcoe SS

13 Jonah Boria - Blessed Trinity CHS

14 Nolan Bosetti - Notre Dame

15 Noah Dabramo - St. Paul CHS

16 Matt Wnukowski - Notre Dame

17 Jordan VanHerwynen - Smithville Christian HS

18 Mario Borojevic - Westlane SS  

19 Alonso Gaci - St. Francis CHS

20 Duncan Glancy - EL Crossley SS

21 Dean Miller - Port High HS

22 Matt Fang - Lakeshore CHS


1 Anthony Marroquin - Denis Morris CHS

2 Taylor Miscolzi - Notre Dame

3 Josh Allegro - AN Meyer SS

4 Patrick Loanidis - Greater Fort Erie

5 Victor Kariuki - St. Paul CHS

6 Tristan Samuel - Holy Cross CHS

7 Luka Peso - Holy Cross CHS

8 Altin Ibrahimi - Holy Cross CHS

9 Evan Charnock - Denis Morris CHS

10 Nick DiPasquale - St. Francis CHS

11 Marco Primerano - AN Meyer SS

12 Sebastian Argudo - Holy Cross CHS

13 Jarret Heidebrecht - Centennial SS

14 Taylor Desmarais - Port High HS

15 Ian Hauber - Jean Vanier

16 Bradley Connor - Jean Vanier

17 Hayden Ladecour - Denis Morris CHS

18 Jake Casciano - St. Paul CHS

19 Kylar Lampman - Centennial SS

20 Riley Hart - St. Michael CHS

21 Caleb Crawford - Sir Winston Churchill

22 Cole Giarratano - Denis Morris CHS


GIRLS Team Blue

1 Julia Thies - Smithville Christian HS

2 Isabelle Newkirk - Governor Simcoe SS

3 Carley Ibey - St.Michael CHS

4 Mia DiPasquale - Blessed Trinity CHS

5 Julia Barker - Sir Winston Churchill

6 Kaitlyn Pressley - Thorold High

7 Brianna Bishop - AN Meyer SS

8 Laryn Palin - Blessed Trinity CHS

9 Hailey Gowel - Lakeshore CHS

10 Alyssa Arcand - Jean Vanier

11 Annie Ibey - St. Michael CHS

12 Madison Rotella - St. Michael CHS

13 Isabella DeNardi - Lakeshore

14 Stephanie Isherwood - Denis Morris CHS

15 Danielle Brinker - Jean Vanier

16 Kate Knafelc - EL Crossley SS

17 Madi Crowe-O'Brien - Beamsville HS

18 Sarah Scerbo - St.Paul CHS

19 Sierra Dykstra - Governor Simcoe SS

GIRLS Team White

1 Jenna Hamann - Notre Dame

2 Breanna Habinski - Greater Fort Erie

3 Linsay Horton - Notre Dame

4 Jesalyn Rothney - Sir Winston Churchill

5 Kate Raso - Notre Dame CHS

6 Lauren Berlingeri - AN Meyer SS

7 Terin Hultink - Smithville Christian HS

8 Jordan Gabriele - Sir Winston Churchill

9 Thalia D'Gyves - Notre Dame

12 Olivia Iannotta - Blessed Trinity CHS

13 Sarah O'Rourke - Holy Cross CHS

14 Sophia Al-Kayad - St. Francis CHS

15 Catherine Wirkkunen - Centennial SS

16 Samantha Duncan - Notre Dame

17 Shelby Parker - Holy Cross CHS

18 Sommer Newton - EL Crossley SS

19 Madison Small - Governor Simcoe SS

20 Sam Seburn - Thorold High

21 Kyra Eaton - Lakeshore CHS

22 Jocelyn Allan - AN Meyer SS