Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NEWS: Record 42 Knights named CCAA Scholar Athlete Award Recipients

NEWS: Record 42 Knights named CCAA Scholar Athlete Award Recipients

Thursday, September 14th saw the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) announce the recipients of the 2016-17 CCAA National Scholar Award. In total, a record 42 Niagara College student-athletes representing all nine Knights' intercollegiate athletics programs earned the academic accolade.

The National Scholar Award recognizes the outstanding academic accomplishments of CCAA student-athletes. To be recognized, individuals must achieve honours standing at their respective institution in the current academic year, and must compete as a member of their institution's intercollegiate sport program.

"This is a fantastic accomplishment by 42 outstanding members of the Niagara Knights family" said Niagara College director of Athletics and Recreation Matthew Davies. "These individuals are a testament to our high performance culture, and they epitomize what it means to be a student-athlete. We are incredibly proud of their ability to achieve academic excellence while representing our institution on their field of play."

The 42 scholar award recipients in 2016-17 is a record for Niagara College. The previous record was 34 set in 2015-16.  This also marks the first time all nine Knights teams have had at least one recipient in the same academic year. Adding to the impressive academic performance of the Knights is that 1 in 3  Niagara College student athletes finished the 2016-17 season with an +80% academic average.

Notable recipients for the Knights this season include 2016-17 OCAA Champion Lorelle Weavers who captured the award for the third consecutive year. Joining Weavers as multi-year scholar award recipients are Brooke-Lyn Murdoch (women's basketball), Emily Naccarato (women's basketball), Marina Painco (women's basketball), Gavin Martin (cross country), Logan Lammerant (golf), Shannon Halliday (women's soccer), Alex Latham (men's soccer), Mike Serianni (men's soccer), and Sami Bailey (women's volleyball)

Women's soccer and cross country led the way for Niagara College with eight recipients, followed by men's soccer(6), women's basketball (6), women's volleyball (4), golf (3), curling (3), men's basketball (2), and men's volleyball (2).

The 2016-17 CCAA National Scholar Award recipients will be formally honoured at the annual Niagara Knights Scholar Awards Brunch scheduled for later this fall.

Full list of 2016-17 Niagara Knights CCAA National Scholar award Recipients

Samantha Bailey, Women's Volleyball
Amy Bultje, Women's Volleyball
Linnea Davis, Women's Volleyball
Rachel Rivers, Women's Volleyball
Rachel Bennett, Women's Soccer
Marina DiFrancesco, Women's Soccer
Morgan German, Women's Soccer
Shannon Halliday, Women's Soccer
Bethany Langendoen, Women's Soccer
Alexandra Pasco, Women's Soccer
Jessica Pychel, Women's Soccer
Amanda Sarabando, Women's Soccer
Hope Vos, Women's Soccer
Courtney McPherson, Women's Basketball
Brooke-Lyn Murdoch, Women's Basketball
Emily Naccarato, Women's Basketball
Xuan Nguyen-Marshall, Women's Basketball
Marina Painco, Women's Basketball
Breanne Vande Ven, Women's Basketball
Jacob Williamson, Men's Volleyball
Jonathan Wismer, Men's Volleyball
Michael Dagg, Men's Soccer
Alexander Latham, Men's Soccer
Hayden Price, Men's Soccer
Francesco Scerbo, Men's Soccer
Michael Serianni, Men's Soccer
Branden Taylor, Men's Soccer
Lequan Cseri-Hylton, Men's Basketball
Payam Saboni, Men's Basketball
Benjamin Kenel, Golf
Logan Lammerant, Golf
Lorelle Weavers, Golf/Curling
Renne Boyce, Curling/Cross Country
Christopher Reilly, Curling
Courtney Smith, Curling
Kimberly Alcock, Cross Country
Kayla Amorim, Cross Country
Kaitlyn Bishop, Cross Country
Malachi Clark, Cross Country
Annie Jones, Cross Country
Gavin Martin, Cross Country
Brittany Moore, Cross Country